momsgotproblems

trials and tribulations of having an eating disorder/bulimia

Sh*t or Get Off the Pot!

Ok, my blog readers, you must be wondering if I am using figurative language (remember, English teacher here) or literal language. At this moment I am speaking figuratively, but perhaps later today…

Yesterday I ended up bitching and without even looking back I know it was about a myriad of things, but I know the weight/size thing was a big part of it (ooh, pun!). That is ALWAYS consuming a huge (!!!) section of my mind and overtakes my thoughts. What do I do about it? One step forward, a hundred steps back. Clearly that is my MO. Bingeing is the behavior du jour and the one that I despise with every singer fiber of my being (and that’s a lot of fibers!!!)

So I need to Sh*t or Get Off the Pot!

Have you heard that expression? I’m sure you can figure out what it means if you haven’t, but just in case I’ll give you the ‘Cliff’s Notes’ version. Take action (that’s the you-know-what part) or get off the pot (stop complaining and just become as big as the planet and then take over the Milky Way–the part of space, not the candy bar!).

Well today, I sorta did both.

Huh? What? Momsgotproblems, you must be thinking, (have you ever wondered about my uncanny ability to read your mind?), how could you do both?

Well the “get off the pot” part happened first thing this morning, pre-work. I was a bad. I ate a banana. And I had a bowl of Froot Loops. And shockingly, it was a human-sized bowl. And while admittedly that is not a gargantuan amount of food, for me it sets the precedent. It opens the floodgates, if you will. Once I start–and it could be just ONE CHEERIO to be honest with you, and all bets are off. So, the fact that I had that early in the morning, I set myself up for eat-o-rama binge-o-rama. I hate me.

Did it lead to more? What do you think? Of course it did!

McD’s for lunch. But here’s where the “sh*t” part comes in; well to be accurate, I should call this the “purge” part. I decided before I grabbed lunch that I would purge it. I have made that promise to myself before and reneged on myself. Truly shows the “problem” part in “momsgotproblems” because if you can’t be honest with yourself… but I digress.

This time I kept my work. Lunch went in… lunch came out. I am glad. I am relieved. I am proud.

Today I acted rather than morosely accepting my fate as an obese lying failure. Is this going to be an anomoly or a daily ritual?

Please ED, allow me the strength to incorporate this back into my life! proud.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment